Vintage Info – All About Vintage Lighting


Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message


Antenna Desk Lamp


Materials: White/ochre plastic. Rubber feet, 2 chromed brass telescopic antenna arms. Aluminium reflector, porcelain G4-socket. Red plastic switch. Built-in transformer 220 – 12 volt.

Max Height: 57 cm / 17.32”

Min Height: 9,5 cm / 3.74”

Lampshade: 6,8 x 6.8 cm / 2.67 x 2.67”

Base: 10 x 6,5 cm / 3.93 x 2.55”

Electricity: 1 bulb G4, 1 x 20 watt, 12 volt maximum, 220 volt.
Any type of light bulb can be used, not a specific one preferred.

Period: 1980s.

Designer: To be appraised.

Manufacturer: Trendlight.

Model: 8906 (labeled on the bottom).

Telescopic lamps were already in production since the early 1960s. A fine example is the Verner Panton LamPetit Table Lamp

These type of telescopic desk lamps start appearing in the 80s. This desk lamp is produced by the company Trendlight. No information to be found. In The Netherlands there was a company active under that name, but it was only from 2008 until 2017.

This lamp is an early version of this type of lamps. Angular lamps are typical 80s. For the convenience they are commonly called Memphis lamps, after the designs from that period by designers from the Mempis Group.  This desk lamp is probably produced in China. Telescopic/folding lamps are still in production.

For the telescopic arms two chromed brass tubes are used. Made in the same way antenna’s for portable radio’s are/were made.

Memphis Group

The Italian Memphis Group was a design and architecture group founded by Ettore Sottsass (1917-2007) in 1981 in Milan which designed Postmodern furniture, lights, fabrics, ceramics, glass and metal objects from 1981 to 1987.

The group’s members included Andrea Branzi, Aldo Cibic, Alessandro Mendini,Arata Isozaki, Barbara Radice, Beppe Caturegli, Ettore Sottsass, George Sowden, Gerard Taylor, Giovanni Levanti, Hans Hollein, Javier Mariscal, Laura Agnoletto, Lawrence Laske, Luciano Paccagnella, Marco Susani, Marco ZaniniMarco ZanusoMaria Sanshez, Martine Bedin, Marzio Rusconi, Massimo Iosa Ghini, Masanori Umeda, Matteo Thun, Michael Graves, Michele de Lucchi, Nathalie du Pasquier, Peter Shire, Shiro Kuramata and Thomas Bley. Ettore Sottsass left the movement in 1985, the Memphis Group disbanded in 1991.